

Weinman Award Recipients







Tak Mak, Ph.D



Craig Thompson, M.D

The 11th Annual Weinman Award is equally shared by three scientists who have made some of the most important discoveries in cancer cell metabolism, developing strategies to interfere with these mechanisms to prevent and treat cancer.

11th Weinman Symposium

University of Hawaii Cancer Center Presents:

International conference on cancer cell metabolism in cancer patients and the interplay with genetic mutations and the immune system

January 23rd – 24th, 2020

Sullivan Conference Center

University of Hawaii Cancer Center

701 Ilalo Street, Kaka'ako

Free & Open to the Public

Speakers

Bruce Beutler, M.D.

Director, Center for the Genetics of Host Defense Professor **UT Southwestern Medical** Center Dallas, TX USA

Lewis C. Cantley, PhD

Meyer Director of the Sandra and Edward Meyer Cancer Center at Weil Cornell Medical College Professor of Cancer Biology in Medicine New York, NY USA

Michele Carbone M.D., PhD

Professor Director of Thoracic Oncology University of Hawaii Cancer Center Honolulu, HI USA

Webster Cavenee, PhD

Distinguished Professor School of Health Sciences University of California San Diego San Diego, CA SA

Carlo Croce, M.D.

Professor and Chair Department of Cancer Biology and Genetics The Ohio State University College of Medicine Columbus, OH USA

Alan D. D'Andrea, M.D.

Cancers The Fuller-American Cancer Society Profess Wellcome Sanger Institute Harvard Medical School Boston, MA, USA

Luis Alberto Diaz, Jr., M.D.

Head Division Solid Tumor Oncology Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center New York, NY, USA

Napoleone Ferrara, M.D.

Distinguished Professor of Pathology Distinguished Adjunct Professor of Ophthalmology Senior Deputy Director for Basic Science UC San Diego Moores Cancer Center San Diego, CA, USA

J. Silvio Gutkind, PhD

Distinguished Professor Department of Pharmacology Associate Director of Basic Science UC San Diego, Moores Cancer Center San Diego, CA, USA

Tak Mak. PhD

Professor, University of Toronto, Toronto Director, The Campbell Family Institute for Breast Cancer Research Senior Scientist, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, Toronto, Canada

Inigo Martincorena, PhD

Director: Susan F. Smith Center for Women Group Leader Somatic Evolution Group Hinxton, Cambridgeshire United Kingdom

Pier Paolo Pandolfi, M.D., PhD

George C. Reisman Professor of Medicine and Professor of Pathology Medicine, Harvard Medical School Director, Cancer Center, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Boston, MA, USA

Celeste Simon, PhD

Scientific Director and Investigator, Abram Family Center Reach Institute Associate Director-Shared Resources. Abramson Cancer Center Arthur H. Rubenstein, MBBCh Professor, Department of Cell and Developmental Biology University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine Philadelphia, PA, USA

Craig B. Thompson, M.D.

President and CEO Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center New York, NY, USA

Suzy Torti, PhD

Professor Department of Molecular Biology and Biophysics UConn Health Farmington, CT, USA

Matthew Vander Heiden, PhD

Associate Director Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research Cambridge, MA, USA

Zhenghe John Wang, PhD

Development Dale H. Cowan M.D.- Ruth Goodman Blum Professor of Cancer Research Department of Genetics and Genome

Professor and Vice Chair for Faculty

Case Western Reserve University Co-leader, Cancer Genetics Program Case Comprehensive Cancer Center USA

Haining Yang, M.D., PhD

Sciences

Professor Thoracic Oncology University of Hawaii Cancer Center Honolulu, HI, USA

Organizing Committee

Michele Carbone University of Hawaii Cancer Center

Bruce Beutler
UT Southwestern Medical Center

Carlo Croce
The Ohio State University

Haining Yang University of Hawaii Cancer Center

Sponsors

Weinman Foundation, Honolulu, HI

International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer (IASLC)

University of Hawaii Cancer Center

Weinman Award Past Recipients

2018

Webster K Cavenee, PhD

University of Kansas School of Medicine

2017

Phillip A. Sharp, PhD

1993 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine Massachusetts Institute Technology

2016

Randy W Schekman, PhD

2013 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine University of California, Berkeley

2015

Mary-Claire King, PhD

The University of Washington Seattle, Washington

2014

Jules A. Hoffmann, PhD

2011 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine University of Strasbourg

Bruce A. Beutler, MD

2011 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine UT Southwestern Medical Center 2013

Elizabeth Blackburn, PhD

2009 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine University of California, San Francisco

2012

Waun Ki Hong, M.D.

The University of Texas

MD Anderson Cancer Center

2011

Carlo M. Croce, M.D.

The Ohio State University James Cancer Hospital

2010

Baruch Blumberg, MD, PhD

1976 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine Fox Chase Cancer Center

2009

Harald zur Hausen

2008 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine German Cancer Research Center