

Weinman Award Recipient

Dr. Clevers is honored with the XIV Weinman award for his groundbreaking work using colorectal organoids to demonstrate that co-cultures with Colibactin-producing E. Coli species induce a mutagenic spectrum characteristic of certain human colorectal cancers.

XIV

Weinman Symposium

University of Hawaii Cancer Center Presents:

International Conference on GXE in Cancer



Hans Clevers, MD, PhD

January 25th, 26th and 27th, 2023

Sullivan Conference Center

University of Hawaii Cancer Center

701 Ilalo Street, Kaka'ako

Honolulu, Hawaii

FACULTY

Lev Becker, Ph.D.

Associate Professor Ben May Dept. of Cancer Research University of Chicago, IL, USA

Bruce Beutler, M.D.

Director, Center for the Genetics of Host Defense Professor UT Southwestern Medical Center Dallas, TX, USA

Michele Carbone M.D., Ph.D.

Professor Director of Thoracic Oncology University of Hawaii Cancer Center Honolulu, HI, USA

Lewis Cantley, Ph.D.

Professor Dana Faber Cancer Institute Weill Cornell Medical College USA

Webster Cavenee, Ph.D.

Director Emeritus and Distinguished Professor Emeritus University of California San Diego, San Diego, CA, USA

James E Cleaver, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus Dermatology and of Pharmaceutical Chemistry University of California San Francisco San Francisco, CA, USA

Hans Clevers, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor Molecular Genetics Utrecht University, Netherlands

Neal G. Copeland, Ph.D.

Professor Department of Genetics MD Anderson Cancer Center Houston, TX, USA

Carlo Croce, M.D.

Professor and Chair Department of Cancer Biology and Genetics The Ohio State University College of Medicir Columbus, OH, USA

Alan D. D'Andrea, M.D.

Director: Susan F. Smith Center for Women's Cancers The Fuller-American Cancer Society Professor, Harvard Medical School Boston, MA, USA

Napoleone Ferrara, M.D.

Distinguished Professor of Pathology Adjunct Professor of Ophthalmology Senior Deputy Director for Basic Science UC San Diego Moores Cancer Center San Diego, CA, USA

Margaret A Goodell, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair Molecular and Cellular Biology Baylor College of Medicine, Houston TX

Nancy A. Jenkins, Ph.D.

Professor Genetic Department MD Anderson Cancer Center Houston, TX, USA

Monica Justice, Ph.D.

Professor Molecular Genetics & Genome Biology Program, Scientific Director Sick-Kids Research Institut The Centre for Phenogenomics University of Toronto, Canada

William G. Kaelin, Jr., M.D.

Sidney Farber Professor of Medicine Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Harvard Medical School Investigator Howard Hughes Medical Institute Boston, MA, USA

Michael B. Kastan, MD, PhD

Executive Director
Duke Cancer Institute
William and Jane Shingleton Professor,
Pharmacology and Cancer Biology
Durham, NC USA

Tak Mak, Ph.D.

Professor, Director of Advanced Medical Discovery Institute Director, The Campbell Family Institute for Breast Cancer Research Senior Scientist, Division of Stem Cell and Developmental Biology Ontario Cancer Institute, Canada

Inigo Martincorena, Ph.D.

Group Leader Welcome Sanger Institute Cambridge, UK

Craig C Mello, Ph.D.

HHMI and Blaise Professor Molecular Medicine University of Massachusetts Medical School Worcester, MA, USA

Jose Onuchic, PhD

Harry C. and Olga K. Wiess Chair of Physics Professor of Chemistry Professor of BioSciences Department of Chemistry Rice University, USA

Pier Paolo Pandolfi, M.D.

Professor Renown Medical Center Reno, NV, USA

Qiang Pan-Hammarström, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor Clinical Immunology Dept of Biosciences and Nutrition Karolinska Institutet, Sweden

Cheryl Lyn Walker, Ph.D.

Director, Center for Precision Environmental Health Professor, Departments of Molecular & Cell

Alkek Presidential Chair in Environmental

Biology and Medicine Baylor College of Medicine Houston, TX, USA

Ashani T. Weeraratna, Ph.D.

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Cancer Biology
E.V. McCollum Chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. And,
Co-Program Leader, Cancer Invasion and Metastasis,
Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center,
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, MD, USA

Hans-Guido Wendel M.D.

Professor Cancer Biology and Genetics Program MSKCC New York NY USA

Haining Yang, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor Thoracic Oncology University of Hawaii Cancer Center Honolulu, HI, USA

Organizing Committee

Michele Carbone University of Hawaii Cancer Center

Bruce Beutler
UT Southwestern Medical Center

Carlo Croce
The Ohio State University

Haining Yang University of Hawaii Cancer Center

Sponsors

Weinman Foundation, Honolulu, HI

University of Hawaii Cancer Center

Weinman Award Past Recipients

2022

Hans Clevers, Ph.D.
University of Utrecht

2021

James E Cleaver, PhD
University of California San Francisco

2020

Napoleone Ferrara, MD UC San Diego Moores Cancer Center

2019

Lewis Cantley, PhDCornell University, New York

Tak Mak, PhD

Ontario Cancer Institute, Toronto

Craig Thompson, MDMSKCC New York

2018

Webster K Cavenee, PhD University of California, San Diego

2017

Phillip A. Sharp, PhD

1993 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine MIT Boston

2016

Randy W Schekman, PhD

2013 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine University of California, Berkeley 2015

Mary-Claire King, PhD

The University of Washington Seattle, Washington

2014

Jules A. Hoffmann, PhD

2011 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine University of Strasbourg

Bruce A. Beutler, MD

2011 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine UT Southwestern Medical Center

2013

Elizabeth Blackburn, PhD

2009 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine University of California, San Francisco

2012

Waun Ki Hong, MD

The University of Texas
MD Anderson Cancer Center

2011

Carlo M. Croce, MD

The Ohio State University James Cancer Hospital

2010

Baruch Blumberg, MD, PhD

1976 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine Fox Chase Cancer Center

2009

Harald zur Hausen

2008 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine German Cancer Research Center Heidelberg