

# Weinman Award Recipient

Dr. Clevers is honored with the XIV Weinman award for his groundbreaking work using colorectal organoids to demonstrate that co-cultures with Colibactin-producing E. Coli species induce a mutagenic spectrum characteristic of certain human colorectal cancers.

# XIV

# Weinman Symposium

University of Hawaii Cancer Center Presents:

International Conference on GXE in Cancer



Hans Clevers, MD, PhD

January 25<sup>th</sup>, 26<sup>th</sup> and 27<sup>th</sup>, 2023

Sullivan Conference Center

University of Hawaii Cancer Center

701 Ilalo Street, Kaka'ako

Honolulu, Hawaii

# **FACUITY**

# Lev Becker, Ph.D.

Associate Professor Ben May Dept. of Cancer Research University of Chicago, IL, USA

#### Bruce Beutler, M.D.

Director, Center for the Genetics of Host Defense Professor UT Southwestern Medical Center Dallas, TX, USA

# Michele Carbone M.D., Ph.D.

Professor Director of Thoracic Oncology University of Hawaii Cancer Center Honolulu, HI, USA

# Lewis Cantley, Ph.D.

Professor Dana Faber Cancer Institute Weill Cornell Medical College USA

# Webster Cavenee, Ph.D.

Director Emeritus and Distinguished Professor Emeritus University of California San Diego, San Diego, CA, USA

#### James E Cleaver, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus Dermatology and of Pharmaceutical Chemistry University of California San Francisco San Francisco, CA, USA

#### Hans Clevers, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor Molecular Genetics Utrecht University, Netherlands

# Neal G. Copeland, Ph.D.

Professor Department of Genetics MD Anderson Cancer Center Houston, TX, USA

# Carlo Croce, M.D.

Professor and Chair Department of Cancer Biology and Genetics The Ohio State University College of Medicine Columbus, OH, USA

# Alan D. D'Andrea, M.D.

Director: Susan F. Smith Center for Women's Cancers The Fuller-American Cancer Society Professor, Harvard Medical School Boston, MA, USA

# Napoleone Ferrara, M.D.

Distinguished Professor of Pathology Adjunct Professor of Ophthalmology Senior Deputy Director for Basic Science UC San Diego Moores Cancer Center San Diego, CA, USA

# Margaret A Goodell, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair Molecular and Cellular Biology Baylor College of Medicine, Houston TX

#### Nancy A. Jenkins, Ph.D.

Professor Genetic Department MD Anderson Cancer Center Houston, TX, USA

# Monica Justice, Ph.D.

Professor Molecular Genetics & Genome Biology Program SickKids Research Institute University of Toronto, Canada

# William G. Kaelin, Jr., M.D.

Sidney Farber Professor of Medicine
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Harvard Medical
School Investigator
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Boston, MA, USA

# Tak Mak, Ph.D.

Professor, Director of Advanced Medical
Discovery Institute
Director, The Campbell Family Institute for
Breast Cancer Research
Senior Scientist, Division of Stem Cell and
Developmental Biology
Ontario Cancer Institute, Canada

# Inigo Martincorena, Ph.D.

Group Leader Welcome Sanger Institute Cambridge, UK

# Craig C Mello, Ph.D.

HHMI and Blaise Professor Molecular Medicine University of Massachusetts Medical School Worcester, MA, USA

#### Jose Onuchic, PhD

Harry C. and Olga K. Wiess Chair of Physics Professor of Chemistry Professor of BioSciences Center of Theoretical Biological Physics Rice University, USA

# Pier Paolo Pandolfi, M.D.

Scientific Director/Senior Scientist William N. Pennington Cancer Institute Renown Health Reno, NV, USA

# Qiang Pan-Hammarström, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor Clinical Immunology Dept of Biosciences and Nutrition Karolinska Institutet, Sweden

# Cheryl Lyn Walker, Ph.D.

Health
Director, Center for Precision Environmental
Health
Professor, Departments of Molecular & Cell

Alkek Presidential Chair in Environmental

Biology and Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX, USA

# Ashani T. Weeraratna, Ph.D.

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Cancer Biology E.V. McCollum Chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. And, Co-Program Leader, Cancer Invasion and Metastasis,

# Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, MD, USA

#### Hans-Guido Wendel, M.D.

Professor Cancer Biology and Genetics Program MSKCC New York, NY, USA

# Haining Yang, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor Thoracic Oncology University of Hawaii Cancer Center Honolulu, HI, USA

# Weinman Award Past Recipients

# Organizing Committee

Michele Carbone University of Hawaii Cancer Center

Bruce Beutler
UT Southwestern Medical Center

Carlo Croce The Ohio State University

Haining Yang University of Hawaii Cancer Center

# Sponsors

Weinman Foundation, Honolulu, HI

University of Hawaii Cancer Center

# 2022

Hans Clevers, Ph.D. University of Utrecht

# 2021

James E Cleaver, PhD
University of California San Francisco

#### 2020

Napoleone Ferrara, MD

UC San Diego Moores Cancer Center

# 2019

Lewis Cantley, PhD

Cornell University, New York

# Tak Mak, PhD

Ontario Cancer Institute, Toronto

# Craig Thompson, MD

MSKCC New York

# 2018

Webster K Cavenee, PhD

University of California, San Diego

# 2017

Phillip A. Sharp, PhD

1993 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine MIT Boston

# 2016

Randy W Schekman, PhD

2013 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine University of California, Berkeley

# 2015

Mary-Claire King, PhD

The University of Washington Seattle, Washington

#### 2014

Jules A. Hoffmann, PhD

2011 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine University of Strasbourg

# Bruce A. Beutler, MD

2011 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine UT Southwestern Medical Center

# 2013

Elizabeth Blackburn, PhD

2009 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine University of California, San Francisco

# 2012

Waun Ki Hong, MD

The University of Texas
MD Anderson Cancer Center

# 2011

Carlo M. Croce, MD

The Ohio State University James Cancer Hospital

# 2010

Baruch Blumberg, MD, PhD

1976 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine Fox Chase Cancer Center

# 2009

Harald zur Hausen

2008 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine German Cancer Research Center Heidelberg