

XV Weinman Award Recipient

XV

Weinman Symposium

University of Hawai'i Cancer Center Presents:

International Conference on GXE in Cancer



Peter K. Vogt, Ph.D.

Dr. Peter K. Vogt transformed cancer research with the discovery of the first oncogene, SRC. His mutational analysis of Rous sarcoma virus established the genetic map of retroviruses.

January 24th, 25th and 26th, 2024

Sullivan Conference Center

University of Hawai'i Cancer Center

701 Ilalo Street, Kaka'ako

Honolulu, Hawai'i

FACULTY

Bruce Beutler, M.D.

Director, Center for the Genetics of Host Defense Professor UT Southwestern Medical Center Dallas, TX, USA

Lewis Cantley, Ph.D.

Professor Dana Faber Cancer Institute Weill Cornell Medical College USA

Michele Carbone M.D., Ph.D.

Professor Director of Thoracic Oncology University of Hawai'i Cancer Center Honolulu, HI, USA

Webster Cavenee, Ph.D.

Director Emeritus and Distinguished Professor Emeritus University of California San Diego, San Diego, CA, USA

Carlo Croce, M.D.

Professor and Chair Department of Cancer Biology and Genetics The Ohio State University College of Medicine Columbus, OH, USA

Alan D. D'Andrea, M.D.

Director: Susan F. Smith Center for Women's Cancers The Fuller-American Cancer Society Professor, Harvard Medical School Boston, MA, USA

Boyi Gan, Ph.D.

N.G. and Hellen T. Hawkins
Distinguished Professor for Cancer
Research
Director, Radiation and Cancer
Metabolism Research Program
Department of Experimental
Radiation Oncology
The University of Texas MD

Carlotta Giorgi, Ph.D.

Associate Professor Dept. of Medical Sciences University of Ferrara Ferrara, Italy

Margaret A. Goodell, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair Molecular and Cellular Biology Baylor College of Medicine, Houston TX

Zeynep H. Gümüş, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Department of Genetics and Genomic
Sciences
Member, Precision Immunology Institute
Member, Center for Thoracic Oncology
Member, Tisch Cancer Center
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
New York, NY USA

Lennart Hammarström, Ph.D.

Professor
Division of Immunology
Department of Medical Biochemistry and
Biophysics
Karolinska Institutet, Sweden

Chuan He, Ph.D.

John T. Wilson Distinguished Service Professor of Chemistry, University of Chicago, IL

Pasi A. Jänne, M.D., Ph.D.

Director, Lowe Center for Thoracic Oncology Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School David M. Livingston, M.D. Chair Director, Belfer Center for Applied Cancer Science Dana Farber Cancer Institute Boston, MA USA

Xuejun Jiang, Ph.D.

Member and Professor Cell Biology Program, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center Cornell University Weill Medical College Gerstner Sloan-Kettering Graduate School New York, NY

William G. Kaelin, Jr., M.D.

Sidney Farber Professor of Medicine Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Harvard Medical School Investigator Howard Hughes Medical Institute Boston, MA, USA

Tak Mak, Ph.D.

Professor, Director of Advanced Medical
Discovery Institute
Director, The Campbell Family Institute for
Breast Cancer Research
Senior Scientist, Division of Stem Cell and
Developmental Biology
Ontario Cancer Institute, Canada

Gerry Melino, M.D., Ph.D

Professor of Biochemistry University of Rome Tor Vergata Italy

Paul Mischel M.D.

Professor and Vice Chair for Research, Department of Pathology Professor, By Courtesy, Department of Neurosurgery Institute Scholar, Sarafan ChEM-H Stanford University, California

Qiang Pan-Hammarström, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor Division of Immunology Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics Karolinska Institute, Sweden

Anthony Ribas, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor of Medicine Surgery and Molecular and Medical Pharmacology UCLA, California USA

David Schrump, M.D.

Chief, Thoracic Surgery Branch CCR/NCI, Bethesda MD, USA

Naoto Ueno, M.D. Ph.D.

Director and Professor of Medicine University of Hawai'i Cancer Center Honolulu, HI, USA

Matthew G Vander Heiden, M.D., Ph.D.

Director, Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research

Lester Wolfe (1919) Professor of Molecular Biology

Professor of Biology

Member, Broad Institute of Harvard and MIT, Cambridge, MA USA

Peter K. Vogt, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Molecular Medicine Scripps Research Institute La Jolla, California USA

Ying Wang, M.D. Ph.D.

Principle investigation Shanghai Institute of Nutrition and Health, CAS, China

Ashani T. Weeraratna, Ph.D.

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Cancer Biology

E.V. McCollum Chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. And,

Co-Program Leader, Cancer Invasion and Metastasis, Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, MD, USA

Haining Yang, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor Thoracic Oncology University of Hawai'i Cancer Center Honolulu, HI, USA

Yoshie Yoshikawa, Ph.D.

Associate Professor Department of Genetics, School of Medicine Hyogo Medical University, Nishinomiya, Japan

Richard A. Young, Ph.D.

Professor of Biology Whitehead Institute MIT, Cambridge, MA

Weinman Award Past Recipients

Organizing Committee

Michele Carbone University of Hawaii Cancer Center

Bruce Beutler
UT Southwestern Medical Center

Carlo Croce
The Ohio State University

Haining Yang University of Hawaii Cancer Center

Sponsors

Weinman Foundation, Honolulu, HI

University of Hawaii Cancer Center

2023

Hans Clevers, Ph.D. University of Utrecht

2022

James E Cleaver, PhD
University of California San Francisco

2020

Napoleone Ferrara, MD
UC San Diego Moores Cancer Center

2019

Lewis Cantley, PhDCornell University, New York

Tak Mak, PhD

Ontario Cancer Institute, Toronto

Craig Thompson, MD MSKCC New York

2018

Webster K Cavenee, PhDUniversity of California, San Diego

2017

Phillip A. Sharp, PhD

1993 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine MIT Boston

2016

Randy W Schekman, PhD

2013 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine University of California, Berkeley

2015

Mary-Claire King, PhD
The University of Washington

2014

Jules A. Hoffmann, PhD

Seattle, Washington

2011 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine University of Strasbourg

Bruce A. Beutler, MD

2011 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine UT Southwestern Medical Center

2013

Elizabeth Blackburn, PhD

2009 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine University of California, San Francisco

2012

Waun Ki Hong, MD

The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

2011

Carlo M. Croce, MD

The Ohio State University James Cancer Hospital

2010

Baruch Blumberg, MD, PhD

1976 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine Fox Chase Cancer Center

2009

Harald zur Hausen

2008 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine German Cancer Research Center Heidelberg